So with the World Mergers becoming a reality over the coming weeks, there seems to be a lot of misunderstanding about how the procedure will go down. For most issues, the FAQs on the forum and the information in my article on the mergers are sufficient, but one question that keeps popping up and is worrying people is what will happen to their accounts/which accounts will be merged/which account should I choose?
People seem to understand what happens between the main account and other accounts, but less so which accounts will be merged and how to decide which account to chose in the merge screen. First off, the picture above is the icon in your city which will lead you to the merger screen where you can select your worlds to merge. It appears for everyone who has an account in a world for which the merger has been activated and it shows a count-down timer for how long it will take to the actual merger.
If you click on it, you are presented with a list of all the ‘merge groups’, the sets of worlds which will merge together. Pressing the ‘select’ button on one of the groups takes you to a new screen which shows on which worlds, WITHIN that merge group, you have accounts.
Simply put what is going to happen, is that for each merge group, the accounts you have in those worlds, and those worlds alone, will be merged together. All other worlds you play in outside of a merge group are unaffected by this, and will merge in another group. If you look at the right screen in the picture above, you see that the worlds Oin96, Vastriel97 and Thorin 98 will be merged, and I happen to have accounts in all three worlds.
By selecting a world in that screen and pressing ‘ok’, I am saying to Kabam that, from these three worlds, the world I chose is my main world with which I want to continue playing. As we know from Kabam’s information, the permanent buffs and city buildings from that world will form the basis of my cities in the new merge-world (Dwalin252 in this case). From the other accounts I will NOT inherit permanent buffs and buildings, but all other items that can be merged, such as chests and items in my inventory. This is all laid out in the FAQ.
Now it happens to be the case that my main account is in world Tinol91. This world is completely left untouched based on the decision I made above. When the time comes for 91 to merge with other worlds (not announced atm), the first screen after pressing the merge button will simply show another merge group from which I will chose 91 as my main world for that group.
So in short, Kabam is forming small groups of worlds that will merge together. WITHIN each group, you select the main account (highest buffs/TKs/whatever) to be the basis of the new merged world, and if you have other accounts in that same merge group, things such as inventory items will be carried over to that main account. In the end, for each merge group you have accounts in, you will be left with one new world to play in. In my above example, my accounts in 96-98 will merge into ONE new account on Dwalin252. I will also be left with ONE account in Bilbo262, as I have accounts in the worlds within THAT merge group. For each merge group you have at least one account in, you will be left with one merged remaining account.
To some this might seem basic and very logical, but I have seen so many people ask questions about this on the forums and in-game, that I thought I might go into this in some detail. For any further questions, feel free to ask!